Club World Cup 2009

Toyota Cup

European Champions League winners Barcelona return to the Club World Cup for the second time after losing the final in 2006 to Brazil's Internacional Porto Alegre. The tournament, which takes place in Abu Dhabi this season, includes the top clubs from all six of FIFA's regional federations plus the local champions, with the European and South American champions entering at the semi-final stage. There they will face the winners from the previous round, which includes the top teams from Africa, Asia, Oceania and Central and North America. Having won five titles this year, Pep Guardiola's side will be looking for a record sixth. (12.11.09)

Barcelona won their sixth title of the year after beating Estudiantes in the final, Messi getting the winner in extra time. (19.12.09)

Club World Cup 2006

9 Dec Al Ahli (Dubai)
0-2 Auckland City (NZ)
Dickinson, Coombes
11 Dec Mazembre (Congo)
Mbenza Bedi
1-2 Pohang Steelers (Korea)
Denilson (2)
Quarter final
12 Dec Auckland City (NZ)
0-3 Atlante (Mexico)
Arreola, Bermúdez, Lucas Silva
Quarter final
15 Dec Pohang Steelers
1-2 Estudiantes (Argentina)
Boselli, Benítez
Semi final
16 Dec Atlante
1-3 Barcelona (Spain)
Busquets, Messi, Pedro
Semi final
16 Dec Mazembre
Kasongo, Kasusula
2-3 Auckland City
Hayne (2), Van Steeden
5th / 6th place play-off
19 Dec Pohang Steelers
(4-3 pso)
3rd / 4th place play-off
19 Dec Estudiantes
1-2 (aet) Barcelona
Pedro, Messi