Club World Cup 2006

Toyota Cup

The Club World Cup has taken over from the Intercontinental Cup as the competition where the world's best sides fight it out for the title of "World Champion Club". The tournament has been expanded to include the top clubs from all six of FIFA's regional federations, with the European and South American champions entering at the semi-final stage. There they will face the winners from the previous round, which includes the top teams from Africa, Asia, Oceania and Central and North America.

This season a Spanish side will be taking part, European Champions League winners Barcelona hoping to inherit the title which Sao Paulo won against Liverpool in last year's final. The tournament has only been held once before that, with Real Madrid participating in the 2000 event which was won by Corinthians in their home country of Brazil. (07.12.06)

10 Dec Auckland City 0 - 2 Al Ahly
Flavio, Aboutrika
Quarter final
11 Dec Jeonbuk Motors 0 - 1 América
Ricardo Rojas
Quarter final
13 Dec Internacional Porto Alegre
Alexandre, Luiz Adriano
2 - 1 Al Ahly
Semi final
14 Dec FC Barcelona
Gudjohnsen, Márquez,
Ronaldinho, Deco
4 - 0 América Semi final
15 Dec Auckland City 0 - 3 Jeonbuk Motors
Lee Hyun, Kim Hyeung,
Ze Carlos
5th / 6th place play-off
17 Dec Al Ahly
Aboutrika (2)
2 - 1 América
3rd / 4th place play-off
17 Dec Internacional Porto Alegre
1 - 0 FC Barcelona Final