Copa del Rey

As in previous years, the three initial rounds of the Spanish cup will be played over one leg, with two-leg knockouts from there on up to the final. The first three rounds will be between second division A clubs and the top sides from the second division B and the third division, as follows:

First round: This will only involve 24 second division B and 18 third division clubs. The 2B clubs are made up of the top five of each of last season's four regional groups, plus the six best placed sides after that. The four promoted sides are excluded, replaced by three of the four sides who were relegated (excluding Barcelona B). The teams qualifying from the third division are the 18 regional group champions, except in the cases where this was a B side, where the runners up will qualify. Six of the 2B sides will be excluded and given byes to the next round, leaving 18 ties to be played, with clubs grouped into four geographical regions.Games will be played over one leg at the ground of the first named side, with the losers going in to the Federation Cup.

Second round: The 18 winners from round one plus the six exempt sides will join the 21 second division A sides (excluding Bilbao Athletic, who are a B team). The 2A sides will play off against each other in one section of the draw,with one team given a bye, and the lower division sides will also be drawn against each other in another section. Again matches will take place over one leg.

Third round: Once again the 2A sides and the lower division sides will be kept apart, with the 10 winners from the 2A grouping playing off against each other. The 12 lower division winners from the second round will also meet each other.

Fourth round: The 20 first division clubs will only enter the competition in round four together with the twelve survivors from the previous rounds. The six teams from the lower divisions will play six of the seven sides who are playing in Europe this season (Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid, Valencia and Sevilla from the Champions League, and Villarreal and Athletic Bilbao from the Europa League). The six second division A sides will be drawn against the remaining sides from the first division. That will leave eight first division sides who will be drawn against each other. As mentioned above, ties take place over two legs, with the first leg at the ground of the lower division club.

Fifth round onwards: Sixteen teams will therefore go in to a fifth round, where the draw will be free. The only proviso is that, where two sides of different divisions meet, the first leg will be played at the ground of the lower division side. As from the quarter finals this condition will no longer apply.

The final this season has provisionally been scheduled for Saturday 21st May, at a venue to be decided. (31.07.15)

Following a ruling by the CSD over a dispute between the league and the federation, the date for the cup final has been changed to Saturday 7th May. However if either of the two finalists is taking part in the Europa League semi-finals, the final will be played a day later on Sunday 8th. (11.08.15)

More changes to the dates for this season's cup final, which will be between Barcelona and Sevilla! It now appears that this has been switched back to 21st May, or the 22nd if Sevilla reach the final of the Europa League! (12.02.16)

Confirmed for 22nd May in Atlético Madrid's Calderón stadium. (22.02.16)

First round 2 Sep
Second round 9 Sep
Third round 14 Oct
Fourth round first leg 2 Dec
Fourth round second leg 16 Dec
Fifth round first leg 6 Jan
Fifth round second leg 13 Jan
Quarter-finals first leg 20 Jan
Quarter-finals second leg 27 Jan
Semi-finals (two legs) 3 Feb / 10 Feb
Final 22 May